Sue Richardson at Jazznights with Roger Odell, Simon Brown and Bernie Hodgkins at The Bell Hotel, Clare on Sunday 3rd February 2019 with additional vocals from Larraine Odell

Since being tipped for the top by Jazzwise magazine, Sue Richardson’s career has gone from strength to strength. Her most recent album, Too Cool, The Life & Music of Chet Baker, cemented her position in the jazz world – gaining four and five star reviews in the jazz press as well as internationally and sell out gigs at Ronnie Scott’s. It was also in The Sunday Times 100 Best Records of The Year 2013 – “The trumpeter and singer Sue Richardson’s homage to Chet Baker brings the boy wonder back to life”.

“Sue Richardson’s trumpet playing catches [Baker’s] combination of delicacy and strength, and her singing has something of his candid simplicity. She even writes the kind of tunes that he might have invented.” 4* review in The Observer“I kid you not, you closed your eyes, you were listening to Chet Baker. A remarkable young woman.” Richard Wheatly, Jazz FM

Sue Richardson

In 2012 Sue worked in Paris with French singer Mina Agossi and Archie Shepp on the blues project ‘Red Eyes’. Archie, on hearing Sue’s playing for the firsttime, commented “She can sure growl!”Recently Sue has been performing with Ian Shaw (she guested on his current album dedicated to the work of Fran Landesman) and they performed a sold-out duo show of jazz standards bringing together all elements of their talents.

Bernie Hodgkins, Sue Richardson and Roger Odell

Sue has been honoured to work with The Humphrey Lyttelton Band. Clive Davis writing in The Times compared her style to Humph’s: “When the cast of I’m Sorry I Haven’t a Clue led a high-spirited tribute to the late Humphrey Lyttelton at the Hammersmith Apollo in 2011, the trumpeter Sue Richardson was among the many musicians who helped to give the old man a stirring send-off. Some of his insouciant comic timing seems to have rubbed off on her as well: she is a breezy presence on the bandstand who is quite happy to make self-deprecating asides about the everyday problems of finding a lipstick that doesn’t leave sediment inside her horn. More to the point, she also possesses something of Hump’s flair for constructing a concise, neatly crafted melody. If Chet Baker and Clifford Brown are two of her main role models – her timbre is warm and full-bodied – her soloing, while avoiding high-note theatrics, evokes the generosity and exuberance of players from the swing era.” The Times

Sue Richardson

Touring with big bands by the age of 16, Sue’s musical journey has seen her gigging in over 50 countries in hotels, jazz clubs and on cruise ships. You can even hear her recorded version of The Girl From Ipanema being played in Rio in the famous bar where the song was written. She has worked for the BBC, performing at The Last Night of The Proms and gaining a Blue Peter badge for her singing! Sue’s gigs are a great combination of her original songs and imaginatively reworked standards, revealing her love of mainstream and 1950s jazz. The musicians in the band also take centre stage with well thought-out solo spots. The tightly-knit band have taken their special brand of modern jazz with a main stream twist to many venues on the national and international circuits.

Sue played with the Jazznights Trio who were:

Roger Odell
Simon Brown

With additional vocals from Larraine:

Larraine Odell

Following the Jazznights raffle of 3 Jazz CDs, we had the traditional sitting-in spot which is open to all musicians who have the opportunity to play with the band. Tonight we had the pleasure of Adrian Whitman playing the drums.

Adrian Whitman
Simon Brown, Bernie Hodgkins, Suie Richardson and Roger Odell

Sunday 17th February 2019 Nigel Price (guitar) will be at Jazznights

Nigel has worked tirelessly to organise his own tours (including a 56 date tour in late 2016) and has picked up a Parliamentary Jazz Award (Best Jazz Ensemble, 2010), a nomination for a British Jazz Award (Best Guitarist, 2014) and a British Jazz Award (Best Guitarist, 2016) along the way. He is a regular performer at Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club.

THE BEST IN BRITISH MODERN JAZZ is at Jazznights, Admission £10. Doors open 7.00 pm. Music 7.30 – 10.00 pm.

Reserve seating on 01787 237653 or email info@jazz-nights.com

Pay on the night.

You can join us at facebook, read reviews of previous performances on more opinions blog or tweet at twitter.com/jazznightsuk

The Jazznights blog and pictures is now at  https://moreopinions.wordpress.com

Pictures from past gigs can also be found at https://www.flickr.com/photos/dancerd/

Advertisements

Andy Panayi at Jazznights, The Bell Hotel, Clare on Sunday 6th January 2019 with Roger Odell, Simon Brown and Bernie Hodgkins with vocals from Larraine Odell

Andy Panayi is an exceptionally gifted jazz musician, skilled in performance, composition and arranging.
He plays all the flutes and all the saxophones and currently leads his own groups, both jazz and classical. He also writes commissioned works and compositions & arrangements for his own ensembles.

Andy has performed and recorded with many singers such as; Shirley Bassey, Jessye Norman, Paul McCartney, Seth MacFarlane, Elaine Paige, Salena Jones, Elvis Costello, Georgie Fame, Peter Skellen, Zoot Money, Irene Reed, Elaine Delmar, Helen Shapiro, Madeline Bell & Patty Austin to name a few.

He’s also worked alongside or supported Abdulla Ibrahim (Dollar Brand), Freddie Hubbard, Phil Woods, Wynton Marsalis and the Lincoln Centre Jazz Orchestra, Joe Lovano, Roy Hargrove, Louie Bellson Octet & Big Band, Ed Thigpen, Jiggs Whigham, Billy Cobham, Indo-Jazz Fusions run by Johnny Mayer, Vale of Glamorgan Contemporary Music Festival, RPO, BBC Concert Orchestra, LSSO, The Moscow City Ballet, Ronnie Scott & his Side-men, Scott Hamilton, Ken Peplowski, Pepper Adams, Kenny Baker, Ted Heath/ Don Lusher Big Band, BBC Radio Big Band, Bert Kaemphert Orchestra, Stan Tracey Big Band -Septet – Octet, John Dankworth & Cleo Laine, The John & Alec Dankworth Generation Big Band, Humphrey Lyttelton and many more.

An Educator

The Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music (ABRSM) & Trinity College London Exam Boards.
Andy works as a consultant/composer/arranger for the ABRSM & Trinity College London specialising in developing the Jazz & Classical syllabuses for future examinations. He is a professor at The Royal College of Music and The Royal Academy of Music in London and the Birmingham Conservatoire.

Bernie Hodgkins, Andy Panayi and Roger Odell

Awards

Andy has received The Marty Paich Arranging Award, The John Dankworth Soloist Award, The Worshipful Company of Musicians Jazz Medal and the British Jazz Awards for his Jazz Flute performances.

Simon Brown, Bernie Hodgkins, Andy Panayi and Roger Odell

Andy played with the Jazznights Trio who were:

Roger Odell
Simon Brown
Bernie Hodgkins
Larraine Odell
Simon Brown, Bernie Hodgkins, Larraine Odell and Roger Odell
Following the Jazznights raffle of 3 jazz cd’s we had the traditional Jazznights sitting in spot which is open to all musicians who have an opportunity to play with the band. Tonight we had the pleasure of Geoff Harriman playing his harmonica with Andy Panayi.
Bernie Hodgkins, Geoff Harriman, Roger Odell and Any Panayi

Julian Marc Stringle will be at Jazznights at The Bell Hotel, Clare on Sunday 20th January 2019

“Julian is an immense talent! Probably the best clarinettist to emerge in British jazz for several decades. His playing has ‘world class’ written all over it”. Sir John Dankworth. “Stringle’s clarinet sound is exquisite. It has freshness, sparkle and a flute-like softness. At times he makes the clarinet sound re-invented”. John Fordham, The Guardian.

THE BEST IN BRITISH MODERN JAZZ is at Jazznights, Admission £10. Doors open 7.00 pm. Music 7.30 – 10.00 pm.

Reserve seating on 01787 237653 or email info@jazz-nights.com

Pay on the night.

You can join us at facebook, read reviews of previous performances on more opinions blog or tweet at twitter.com/jazznightsuk

The Jazznights blog and pictures is now at  https://moreopinions.wordpress.com

Pictures from past gigs can also be found at https://www.flickr.com/photos/dancerd/

Jazznights – http://jazz-nights.com/site/

Alan Barnes with Roger Odell, Bernie Hodgkins and Simon Brown with vocals from Larraine Odell at The Bell Hotel, Clare on Sunday 23rd December 2018

Alan Barnes is a prolific international performer, composer, arranger, bandleader and touring soloist.  He is best known for his work on clarinet, alto and baritone sax, where he combines a formidable virtuosity with a musical expression and collaborative spirit that have few peers.  His range and brilliance have made him a “first call” for studio and live work since his precocious arrival on the scene more than thirty years ago.

His recorded catalogue is immense.  He has made over thirty albums as leader and co-leader alone, and the list of his session and side-man work includes Bjork, Bryan Ferry, Michel LeGrande, Clare Teale, Westlife, Jools Holland and Jamie Cullum. He has toured and played residencies with such diverse and demanding figures as Ruby Braff, Freddie Hubbard, Scott Hamilton, Warren Vache, Ken Peplowski, Harry Allen and Conte Candoli.

In British jazz, the young Barnes was recognized – and hired – by the established greats of the time:  Stan Tracy, John Dankworth, Kenny Baker, Bob Wilber, and Humphrey Lyttelton.  But he is equally respected for his longstanding and fruitful collaborations with contemporaries such as David Newton, Bruce Adams, and Martin Taylor.

Alan Barnes’s unique musicianship, indefatigable touring, and warm rapport with audiences have made him uniquely popular in British jazz.  He has received over 25 British Jazz Awards, most recently in 2014 for clarinet, and has twice been made BBC Jazz Musician of the Year.

Barnes’ melodic sense bypasses the usual scale-running clichés that pepper the playing of lesser bop disciples.
Peter Marsh, BBC Music Review.

His stylistic range is quite phenomenal… He has a wonderful capacity for suggesting a given style without actually imitating anyone
Dave Gelly, Masters Of The Jazz Saxophone.

I was relishing the prospect of Barnes’s casually consummate musicianship, deadpan humour (he could be a comedian, if jazz ever fails him), and indomitable belief in a respected place for the music’s rich history in this eclectic and often forgetful world.
John Fordham – The Guardian.

Barnes plays music that was radical 50 years ago but he infuses it with so much passion and energy you could believe it was minted on the spot, which is always part of the story with jazz.
John L. Walters, The Guardian.

Alan Barnes played with Roger Odell, Simon Brown and Bernie Hodgkins

Following the Jazznights raffle of 3 jazz cd’s we had the traditional Jazznights sitting in spot which is open to all musicians who have an opportunity to play with the band. Tonight we had the pleasure of vocals from Jean Faulkner and Brian Stapley on drums
The Jazznights Trio@ Simon Brown, Bernie Hodgkins and Roger Odell

Sunday 6th January 2019 Andy Panayi will be at Jazznights

Andy Panayi (saxes and flute) is an exceptionally gifted jazz musician, skilled in performance, composition and arranging. He plays all the flutes and all the saxophones and currently leads his own groups, both jazz and classical. He is professor at The Royal College of Music and The Royal Academy of Music in London and the Birmingham Conservatoire.

THE BEST IN BRITISH MODERN JAZZ is at Jazznights, Admission £10. Doors open 7.00 pm. Music 7.30 – 10.00 pm.

Reserve seating on 01787 237653 or email info@jazz-nights.com

Pay on the night.

You can join us at facebook, read reviews of previous performances on more opinions blog or tweet at twitter.com/jazznightsuk

The Jazznights blog and pictures is now at  https://moreopinions.wordpress.com

Pictures from past gigs can also be found at https://www.flickr.com/photos/dancerd/

Jazznights – http://jazz-nights.com/site/

http://jazz-nights.com/site/

http://jazz-nights.com/site/

Josephine Davies with Roger Odell, Bernie Hodgkins and Simon Brown with vocals from Larraine Odell at The Bell Hotel, Clare on Sunday 9th December 2018

Josephine Davies is a solo artist at the forefront of the UK contemporary music scene, pushing the boundaries of jazz with her current main artistic project Satori – a sax/bass/drums trio with an emphasis on extended and collaborative improvisation. It is a project that combines her seeking of freedom of expression with her interest in Japanese philosophy and lifestyle.

Josephine Davies

Originally from the Shetland Islands and now based in London, UK, Josephine’s writing and playing continues to be infused with a Nordic quality, notably in her use of traditional folk music elements, and her haunting tone reminiscent of the late great tenorist Bobby Wellins.

As a saxophonist, she is known for her melodic focus, versatility and unique style which has been described as “consistently inventive” (Jazzwise Magazine), “strong and authoritative” (The JazzMann) and “gifted and imaginative” (All About Jazz).

​Deeply influenced by the American composer Maria Shneider, Josephine has been resident composer and tenor player for the London Jazz Orchestra since 2011 and is now embarking on a big band project of her own.  

Josephine Davies

​In 2016 Josephine was privileged to be a featured soloist on veteran saxophonist and composer Pete Hurt’s jazz orchestra recording A New Start, which was released to wide acclaim and came second in the British Jazz Awards Best New Album.


Simon Brown, Bernie Hodgkins, Josephine Davies and Roger Odell

Josephine played with the Jazznights Trio who were:

Roger Odell
Simon Brown
Bernie Hogkins
Larraine Odell
Following the Jazznights raffle of 3 jazz cd’s we had the traditional Jazznights sitting in spot which is open to all musicians who have an opportunity to play with the band. Tonight we had the pleasure of vocals from Carol Bleiker and Adrian Whitman on drums
Carol Bleiker
Adrian Whitman
Bernie Hodgkins, Josephine Davies and Roger Odell

Sunday 23rd December 2018 the great Alan Barnes will be at Jazznights

Our Xmas gig could feature no one better than the great Alan Barnes. His unique musicianship, indefatigable touring, and warm rapport with audiences have made him uniquely popular in British jazz. He has received over 25 British Jazz Awards, most recently in 2014 for clarinet, and has twice been made BBC Jazz Musician of the Year.

THE BEST IN BRITISH MODERN JAZZ is at Jazznights, Admission £10. Doors open 7.00 pm. Music 7.30 – 10.00 pm.

Reserve seating on 01787 237653 or email info@jazz-nights.com

Pay on the night.

You can join us at facebook, read reviews of previous performances on more opinions blog or tweet at twitter.com/jazznightsuk

The Jazznights blog and pictures is now at  https://moreopinions.wordpress.com

Pictures from past gigs can also be found at https://www.flickr.com/photos/dancerd/

Trudy Kerr at Jazznights, The Bell Hotel Clare on Sunday 215th November 2018 singing with Roger Odell, Simon Brown and Bernie Hodgkins with additional vocals from Larraine Odell

Trudy Kerr is renowned as one of the UK’s finest jazz vocalists. Mojo Magazine says of her singing “Trudy Kerr is the genuine article – She is a Joy!” All About Jazz has described her as “100% real jazz musician with fluid phrasing and a mellifluous, warm and sensuous tone.”

Born in Australia, Trudy moved to the UK in the early 1990’s to pursue a career in Jazz. She got her big break when Ronnie Scott asked her to perform at his Club and Trudy’s career grew from there. She has performed at many major venues and festivals in the UK as well as engagements in Europe, her homeland Australia and the Far East.

Trudy Kerr

To date Trudy has released ten albums on the Jazzizit Record Label (The Rhythm of Life 2012, Reunion 2010, Like Minds 2009, Deja Vu 2007, Jazz for Juniors 2006, Cloudburst 2005, My Old Flame 2001, Day Dream 2000, Trudy 1998 and Sweet Surprise 1997) and has collaborated both live and in the studio with world class musicians including Mulgrew Miller, Jan Lundgren, Georgie Fame, Bob Dorough, Michael Garrick, Acker Bilk, Jamie Cullum, Geoff Gascoyne (her husband), Tom Cawley, Seb de Krom, Jim Mullen plus many more.

To celebrate her extensive discography reaching double figures, Jazzizit Records have just put the finishing touches to a Trudy Kerr Compilation called Contemplation. It consists of fifteen tracks of some of Kerr’s greatest recorded moments and will be available for a Christmas release.

On a live performance you’ll hear “her highly skilled nimble voice” (Steve Rubie, 606 Club, Chelsea, London) deliver a diverse repertoire that could include compositions by Chick Corea, Horace Silver, John Coltrane, Wayne Shorter, Fats Waller, Bill Evans, Antonio Carlos Jobim and of course the Great American Songbook standards.

She is fast becoming a prolific lyricist having penned many vocalese (putting words to instrumental solos). Her performance of vocalese has been described by Jazzwise Magazine as “stunning and virtuosic with machine-gun fire delivery of the melodic line.” Trudy’s recent album with Geoff Gascoyne, The Rhythm of Life, was also full of exciting new repertoire penned by the husband and wife team. Jamie Cullum describing the songs as “new standards of today”.

As well as performing an eclectic mix of music on her gigs, she also performs an outstanding set celebrating the music of Chet Baker and Gerry Mulligan with her regular trio, Tom Cawley (piano), Geoff Gascoyne (bass) and Sebastian de Krom (drums), alongside two of the UK’s finest musicians, Dick Pearce (trumpet) and Derek Nash (tenor saxophone).

Simon Brown, Bernie Hodgkins, Trudy Kerr and Roger Odell
Roger Odell
Simon Brown
Bernie Hodgkins
Additional vocals from Larraine Odell
Following the Jazznights raffle of 3 jazz cd’s we had the traditional Jazznights sitting in spot which is open to all musicians who have an  opportunity to play  with the band. Tonight we had the pleasure of Brian Stapley on drums playing with the band
Brian Stapley
Simon Brown, Bernie Hodgkins, Trudy Kerr and Roger Odell

Sunday 9th December 2018 – JOSEPHINE DAVIES (sax) will be at Jazznights

Josephine has an unusual background as a jazz musician, having initially trained in classical flute and piano. She then studied alto saxophone at the Guildhall School in London, but then switched her instrument to tenor sax. “A truly gifted and imaginative saxophonist” All About Jazz. “…confident, fluent and imaginative” The Jazzman.

THE BEST IN BRITISH MODERN JAZZ is at Jazznights, Admission £10. Doors open 7.00 pm. Music 7.30 – 10.00 pm.

Reserve seating on 01787 237653 or email info@jazz-nights.com

Pay on the night.

You can join us at facebook, read reviews of previous performances on more opinions blog or tweet at twitter.com/jazznightsuk

The Jazznights blog and pictures is now at  https://moreopinions.wordpress.com

Pictures from past gigs can also be found at https://www.flickr.com/photos/dancerd/

Lee Gibson at Jazznights with Roger Odell, Simon Brown, Steve Cook and vocals from Larraine Odell at The Bell Hotel, Clare Sunday 12th November 2018


‘World-class British jazz singers are a rare breed at the moment, but Lee Gibson is certainly one of them. She continues to go from strength to strength, both on record and in person. While Cassandra Wilson leads the female vocal field in America, Lee Gibson has comparable status in Britain.’ (Manchester Evening News)

Jazznights Lee Gibson 111118 (47)

Lee Gibson is a ‘jazz vocal sensation’ (The Independent). A nationally and internationally acclaimed singer who has delighted critics and fans alike with her wonderful voice, innate sense of swing and dynamic stage presence. ‘She is that rarity, a swinging singer who has also reached the highest standards of musicianship.’ (Time Out).

‘Subtle…sensuous…joyful…musical’ (The Stage). A superb, charismatic performer with a reputation for excellence that pulls in the crowds, her live appearances regularly set venue attendance records. ‘Soaring, meticulous vocals….the perfect jazz voice, truly playing it like an instrument (Blackpool Evening Gazette).

She has featured in over 1,000 broadcasts on BBC Radio including ‘live’ broadcasts with the BBC Big Band (with whom she has also appeared in concert on many occasions) and the BBC Concert Orchestra on ‘Friday Night is Music Night’.

Lee has appeared at The Barbican, The Purcell Room, The Queen Elizabeth Hall, The Fairfields Hall, Ronnie Scotts, seven seasons at Pizza on the Park, the 606 Club, The Spice of Life and at all the major jazz venues throughout the UK and Europe.

Festival appearances in the UK and Ireland include Appleby, Ealing, London, Birmingham, Wigan, Marlborough, Edinburgh, Dundee, Newbury, Bude, Derry, Cork, Preston, Swanage, the Isle of Man, Dartmouth and Swansea. In 2016, Lee appeared at festivals in Llandeilo and Abergavenny.

Lee has a long association with leading UK jazz independent record label Spotlite Records which has seen the release of three solo albums ‘Songs of Time and Place’, ‘Linger Awhile’ and ‘Here’s to Love’. All have received universal critical acclaim. She will be looking to return to the studio in 2018 to record a new CD.

Her many film and television credits include ‘Victor Victoria’, ‘Privates on Parade’, ‘The Great Muppet Movie’, ‘An American Tail’, ‘Willow’, ‘Yentl’, ‘The Two Ronnies’, ‘The Morecambe and Wise Show’, ‘Only Fools and Horses’, ‘Barrymore’, ‘The Benny Hill Show’ and 7 Royal Variety Shows.

‘As far as I am concerned there can never be too much Lee Gibson…she lights up any song with her musicality.’ (The Observer) ‘She is, without doubt, the best jazz singer this country has produced in the last 40 years.’ (Digby Fairweather) 

Simon Brown, Steve Cook, Lee Gibson and Roger Odell

Lee Gibson sang with 

Roger Odell
Simon Brown
Steve Cook

Additional vocals from Larraine Odell


Larraine Odell
Following the Jazznights raffle of 3 jazz cd’s we had the traditional Jazznights sitting in spot which is open to all musicians who have an  opportunity to play  with the band. Tonight we had the pleasure of our faourite harmonica player Geoff Harriman
Geoff Harriman
Simon Brown, Steve Cook, Lee Gibson and Roger Odell

Sunday 9th December 2018 Jazznights welcomes Josephine Davies (saxophone)

Josephine has an unusual background as a jazz musician, having initially trained in classical flute and piano. She then studied alto saxophone at the Guildhall School in London, but then switched her instrument to tenor sax. “A truly gifted and imaginative saxophonist” All About Jazz. “…confident, fluent and imaginative” The Jazzman.

THE BEST IN BRITISH MODERN JAZZ is at Jazznights, Admission £10. Doors open 7.00 pm. Music 7.30 – 10.00 pm.

Reserve seating on 01787 237653 or email info@jazz-nights.com

Pay on the night.

You can join us at facebook, read reviews of previous performances on more opinions blog or tweet at twitter.com/jazznightsuk

The Jazznights blog and pictures is now at  https://moreopinions.wordpress.com

Pictures from past gigs can also be seen at https://www.flickr.com/photos/dancerd

For further information on future gigs go to www.jazz-nights.com

Tracks: Bill Sharpe, Roger Odell, Keith Winters and Martin Elliott atJazznights – The Bell Hotel, Clare on Sunday 28th October 2018

TRACKS

Tracks is the jazz-rock fusion band formed in the late 70’s which led to the formation of Shakatak. Tracks features current Shakatak members Bill Sharp (keys) and Roger Odell (drums) with ex-member Keith Winter (guitar) plus Martin Elliott (electric bass)

Roger Odell – Drums

I first began playing drums at about the age of 14 in a band that we formed at my school, Buckhurst Hill County High, and later I played in various dance bands in the Essex/Herts area. In my late teens I formed a modern jazz group and played regularly at The Greyhound in Harlow, and this led to my meeting up with jazz pianist Alan Gowen. The trio we subsequently formed with John Hosey on bass continued to play in the Harlow area, and as a rhythm section we accompanied most of the top names on the UK jazz scene. I also played in a student big band run by members of the John Dankworth Orchestra in London.

I turned fully professional in the 70’s with the Cambridge group C.M.U., touring throughout the UK and Europe and recording two albums for the Transatlantic label. These were called “Open Spaces”, and “Space Cabaret”, and have just been re-released on one CD on the See For Miles label- SEECD373. This group featured my wife Larraine as lead vocalist.

Towards the end of the 70’s I formed a jazz-rock band called Tracks with Trevor on bass, Bill Sharpe (keyboards) and Keith Winter (guitar). When Trevor left to form Buggles his replacement was Martin Elliot, now with Michael Nyman. Ian Hamlett, formerly of C.M.U., and bassist John Dover also played with Tracks. We recorded an EP which we released on “white label”, and sold at our regular Sunday lunch-time gig at Triad Arts Centre in Bishops Stortford. This is now available on CD.



As well as being a member of Shakatak, I free-lance in other situations and I also run my own ands, often featuring my wife Larraine as vocalist. Our son Jamie (Jimpster, Audiomontage, DJ, Re-mixer) is a keyboard playing Producer/Engineer rapidly making a name for himself with a variety of projects including The Bays, and we have a daughter, Maxine, who graduated from Coventry University with a degree in Culture, Communication and Media, and is now living and working in London. In late ’99, early ’00, I co-produced my own CD with Jamie, which features among others, Larraine and Jacqui Hicks on vocals, Mornington Lockett on saxes, Jamie on keyboards, Maxine on backing vocals, and myself on drums. The group is called Beatifik, and the CD is entitled “The Blue Window”.

Bill Sharpe – Keyboards

After graduating from Birmingham University with an honours degree in music, I started to work for the BBC as a studio manager. At the same time, I continued to play in bands as I did throughout my years at school. One of the bands was called “Tracks” which comprised of Roger Odell, Keith Winter and Trevor Horn.

1980, along with Keith and Roger and producer Nigel Wright, I formed Shakatak. We toured the UK extensively during the early eighties and signed with Polydor records. In 1982 we had our first top 20 hit with “Easier said than done”, one of the hits that I wrote for the band. Others include “Night Birds”,”Invitations”, “Dark is the Night”, “Down on the Street” and “Mr Manic and Sister Cool”.

In 1983, international success began for the band in Europe, America and particularly in Japan where “Night Birds” became one of the biggest selling international albums of all time.

As the 90’s began , Shakatak and I found ourselves touring less and recording more due to the demand for recordings particularly in Japan. Our music was becoming very popular in America in the contemporary jazz market where they had two consecutive number 1 albums. 
At this time, since the band’s schedule was less hectic, I found time to start writing music for television which has remained an interest to this day. In 1996, through my consultancy work for Technics keyboards, I met the great jazz musician Don Grusin and after spending time helping with the design and specs for some new Technics products in Japan, we became good friends. In 1997, I had the time and opportunity to record my second solo album and asked Don Grusin to co-produce the record with me in Los Angeles. This enabled me to work with some of my favourite American musicians including Alex Acuna, Paulinho da Costa, Abe Laboriel as well as the great soul singer Jeffrey Osborne.


Keith Winter and Martin Elliott

 

Martin Elliott – Electric bass

I turned professional in December 1978 and since then I’ve been lucky enough to play for many great musicians and singers, plus I have travelled all over the world.

Over the past 30 years or so some of the jobs I’ve had include playing for: Michael Nyman, Gary Numan, Michael Ball, Shirley Bassey, Bucks Fizz, Petula Clark, The Nolans, Alice (Italy), London Saxophonic, Franco Battiato(Italy), The Jesus and Mary Chain, The Soweto String Quartet, Sacha Distel, Ute Lemper, Matt Munro, the Royal Philharmonic Concert Orchestra and many others, plus I’ve played in theatres for: “Grease”, “Cats”, “Les Miserables”, “Chess”, “Whistle Down The Wind”, “The Beautiful Game” and I’ve played many TV, radio, album (recently for John Barrowman and Will Martin) and film recording dates.

A couple of TV jobs that I’m most pleased to have done are: playing on the theme tune of “Blue Peter” (when it had a slapped Fender Jazz…I’m sure you remember that…) and playing my fretless on the show “Bottom” as part of the “Bum Notes”. During the late ’80s I played in the orchestra for “New Faces”, plus I regularly played in the house band for “Wogan”. I have also been involved as a co-producer with the Michael Nyman Band, for the piece “After Extra Time” and London Saxophonic, for the CD “An Eye for a Difference”.
In 1997 I had the unusual and privileged opportunity to perform a modern opera – “Dirty Tricks”, with music by Paul Barker – that was accompanied by solo bass guitar. I have also recorded a “concerto” for bass guitar written for me by the Spanish composer Chema Rivas.

Keith Winter – Guitar

A professional session player and gigging guitarist from the age of 19, Keith Winter went on to become a founder member of the 80’s jazz funk band Shakatak. The band achieved considerable chart success both here and abroad and toured extensively.

At the end of the 80’s, during an extended spell of nothing but recording, Keith felt the need to get out and play live again, returning to his early rockier roots with the band ‘Before The Storm’.

With Keith as the main composer along with singer Steve Scales, the band played some 200 gigs in and around the London area and was attracting record company interest when Keith fell ill with a very rare condition that considerably damaged his sensory nervous system and left him severely disabled and unable to play the guitar or even walk properly. The consultants were of the opinion that recovery was unlikely due to the extent of the damage, so some seriously nice guitars and amps got sold!

That seemed to be it!

But amazingly, 21 years later and against all the odds, Keith has now recovered and is back playing again. Initially he started playing guitar with his daughter Cara, a young pianist and singer songwriter (myspace.com/carawinter). He then formed an 8 piece band called ‘Have You Heard’ with local musicians to play a selection of Pat Metheny Group tunes and has got back together again with Steve Scales as ‘Another Storm’ (myspace.com/anotherstorm)  playing the tunes written back at the start of the 90’s, with new material and CD planned for 2011.

The icing on the cake as far as he is concerned is the return of ‘Tracks’.

Master of Ceremonies for the evening was the erudite Gareth Williams-James

 

Jazznights Keith Winter 081017  (131) - Copy

This gig was a truly rare stunning blast from the past and they should reform much more often to play their unique blend of Jazz Rock Fusion. Tonight they played many great numbers including:

Jalna  An original Tracks number written by Roger Odell – meaning of the title is somewhat obscure!
Monday Jump Another song penned by Roger Odell – we leave to you the meaning of the song title!
Maiden Voyage Tracks interpretation of the famous composition by Herbie Hancock from his 1965 album Maiden Voyage
Queen Mab A Tracks tune based on A Tale Entwined in Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet.
Freeway written by Bill Sharpe
Freeway Play based on Bill’s original Freeway
Arjen’s Bag from John McLaughlin’s Extrapolation is the debut album by jazz guitarist John McLaughlin.
Dreams of E.B. Frankenstein composed by Ian Hamett one of the original guitarists of the Cambridge C.M.U. band
Down Wind from Cerberus
The Red Baron

TRACKS

Sunday 11th November 2018 Lee Gibson (vocals) will be at Jazznights

Lee Gibson is a ‘jazz vocal sensation’ (The Independent). A nationally and internationally acclaimed singer who has delighted critics and fans alike with her wonderful voice, innate sense of swing and dynamic stage presence. ‘She is that rarity, a swinging singer who has also reached the highest standards of musicianship.’ Time Out.

THE BEST IN BRITISH MODERN JAZZ is at Jazznights, Admission £10. Doors open 7.00 pm. Music 7.30 – 10.00 pm.

Reserve seating on 01787 237653 or email info@jazz-nights.com

Pay on the night.

You can join us at facebook, read reviews of previous performances on more opinions blog or tweet at twitter.com/jazznightsuk

The Jaznights blog and pictures is now athttps://moreopinions.wordpress.com

Pictures from past gigs can also be seen at https://www.flickr.com/photos/dancerd

For further information on future gigs go to www.jazz-nights.com